Proverbs 1:20-33

The Call of Wisdom

    20 Wisdom calls aloud outside;
      She raises her voice in the open squares.
       21 She cries out in the chief concourses,
      At the openings of the gates in the city
      She speaks her words:
       22 “ How long, you simple ones, will you love simplicity?
      For scorners delight in their scorning,
      And fools hate knowledge.
       23 Turn at my rebuke;
      Surely I will pour out my spirit on you;
      I will make my words known to you.
       24 Because I have called and you refused,
      I have stretched out my hand and no one regarded,
       25 Because you disdained all my counsel,
      And would have none of my rebuke,
       26 I also will laugh at your calamity;
      I will mock when your terror comes,
       27 When your terror comes like a storm,
      And your destruction comes like a whirlwind,
      When distress and anguish come upon you.
       28 “ Then they will call on me, but I will not answer;
      They will seek me diligently, but they will not find me.
       29 Because they hated knowledge
      And did not choose the fear of the LORD,
       30 They would have none of my counsel
      And despised my every rebuke.
       31 Therefore they shall eat the fruit of their own way,
      And be filled to the full with their own fancies.
       32 For the turning away of the simple will slay them,
      And the complacency of fools will destroy them;
       33 But whoever listens to me will dwell safely,
      And will be secure, without fear of evil.”

 

I read this and was very convicted. Have I refused wisdom that God has been freely giving me? Have I refused His knowlege? Have I lived in my sinful simple ways to the point that I refuse His correction? Or His Holy rebuke?

Lord have mercy on me. I cring at the thought of Your laughter at my calamity. Or to be mocked by my God when my terror comes. To think that when I call on You Holy God You would not answer me. To seek your face diligently but not find You.

To have to eat the fruit of my own way. To have the complacency of fools destroy me. God forbid.

I yearn to listen to Your wisdom God and to dwell in safety. To be secure without fear of evil.

This is my prayer.

4 thoughts on “Proverbs 1:20-33

  1. Margaret says:

    Hi Liz,

    Certainly, we are all sinners and need to keep a watch over our heart’s intentions…. We all do need to listen to Wisdom’s loving call and obey…. We also need to realize that it is the world that mocks Wisdom’s loving call and deliberately disobeys….

    We are not to be like the world as they hate God’s righteous ways and center only on their own egos…. We do need to always keep our eyes open to the possibility of sin within us…. We should never think we are incapable of sin.

    But, we should never let Satan get the upper hand with false accusations…. Instead, each day we need to place our souls in the tender, loving hands of our Good Shepherd, who has promised to lead in the safety of His word….. Each day we are to be like a small child, who joyfully and lovingly imitates his beloved heavenly Father, just because he knows how good and right his heavenly Father is…. Living God’s way is beautiful, right, and good.

    Our day-to-day living is an effort to imitate our heavenly Father, and we know we will still stumble and fall — just as a small child falls when learning to walk…. Our falls do not discourage us because our heavenly Father reaches out to pick us up and help us walk again.

    Let us gladly reach out to His loving hands and let Him help…. God has a loving, tender smile for those who look to Him…. The “laugh” that Proverbs refers to is only for those who despise the LORD and are silly enough to think God is nothing…. Those worldly people feel there is no “God” and that they are in control of everything…. That is why they live lives of thievery, murder, adultery, hate, revenge, etc….. God’s “laugh” is because these evil people are foolish enough to think that they are more powerful than God Almighty.

    You certainly are not that way…. So, don’t let Satan wrongfully accuse you…. Instead, in Christ’s love, know that your sins are forgiven and He will help you to continue living to His glory, because He loves you dearly….. Yes, we are tested with trials, but we must endure and continue to trust in God’s real love.

    When the disciples and early Christians were tortured, beaten, and imprisoned, they did not claim God no longer loved them…. They accepted their trials as a test of their faith in God’s love — and they endured with praise and thanksgiving….. There are words of reassurance for God’s children all throughout scripture…..

    Nehemiah 8:10 – “Do not be grieved, for the JOY of the LORD is your strength.”

    Love, Margaret

    1. Liz says:

      Hi Margaret.

      Thanks for those truthful words. I need to remember this. The situation that I am in from the last post is just having an effect on me. I know this passage is mainly talking to the unGodly and those who do not have a relationship with Him.

      Sometimes though I feel my prayers are going on deaf ears and would never want God to refuse when I call on Him.. I know that Satan is the father of lies and wants to tear me down . I need to stand firm against that.

      I so do not want to greive and I so want the joy of the Lord as my strength. I have been trying to fix this in my own power and am not letting God handle it.

      Thanks again for you insight and prayers they are very welcomed.

  2. Margaret says:

    Liz,

    It’s worthwhile remembering that God’s children down through the ages have gone through these kinds of testings that just seem to rip our hearts apart….. King David was repeatedly tested, so today we are blessed with the Psalms he wrote regarding his times of fear and anguish…..

    Psalm 42:5 – Why are you in despair, O my soul?… And why have you become disturbed within me?… Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him for the help of His presence.

    Dwell in the Psalms and see how often it sings about praising God in the midst of our trials….. Each time, the child of God is blessed in the end and grows in faith….. God is our heavenly Father, who dearly loves us and uses these things to strengthen us….. My life, too, seems to be a constant testing…. Over the years I’ve seen how God works all things for the good of those who love Him…. It might be different from what we imagined, but, it is for good in the end….. Trust Him.

    Love, Margaret

Leave a Reply

