Is It A Sweet Sound?

1 Chronicles 15:16
David told the leaders of the Levites to appoint their brothers as singers to sing joyful songs, accompanied by musical instruments: lyres, harps and cymbals.

~Ephesians 5:19
Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord,
1 Kings 10:12
The king used the almugwood to make supports for the temple of the LORD and for the royal palace, and to make harps and lyres for the musicians. So much almugwood has never been imported or seen since that day.

 

Psalm 150
1 Praise the LORD.
Praise God in his sanctuary;
praise him in his mighty heavens.
2 Praise him for his acts of power;
praise him for his surpassing greatness.

3 Praise him with the sounding of the trumpet,
praise him with the harp and lyre,

4 praise him with tambourine and dancing,
praise him with the strings and flute,

5 praise him with the clash of cymbals,
praise him with resounding cymbals.

6 Let everything that has breath praise the LORD.
Praise the LORD.

~Psalm 27:6
Then my head will be exalted above the enemies who surround me; at his tabernacle will I sacrifice with shouts of joy; I will sing and make music to the LORD.

~Job 21:12
They sing to the music of tambourine and harp; they make merry to the sound of the flute.

~Nehemiah 12:27
[ Dedication of the Wall of Jerusalem ] At the dedication of the wall of Jerusalem, the Levites were sought out from where they lived and were brought to Jerusalem to celebrate joyfully the dedication with songs of thanksgiving and with the music of cymbals, harps and lyres

~1 Chronicles 23:5
Four thousand are to be gatekeepers and four thousand are to praise the LORD with the musical instruments I have provided for that purpose.”

~1 Chronicles 15:16
David told the leaders of the Levites to appoint their brothers as singers to sing joyful songs, accompanied by musical instruments: lyres, harps and cymbals.

~1 Chronicles 25:6
All these men were under the supervision of their fathers for the music of the temple of the LORD, with cymbals, lyres and harps, for the ministry at the house of God. Asaph, Jeduthun and Heman were under the supervision of the king.

~Psalm 47:1
[ For the director of music. Of the Sons of Korah. A psalm. ] Clap your hands, all you nations; shout to God with cries of joy.

~Psalm 144:9
I will sing a new song to you, O God; on the ten-stringed lyre I will make music to you,

~Psalm 147:7
Sing to the LORD with thanksgiving; make music to our God on the harp.

~Psalm 149:3
Let them praise his name with dancing and make music to him with tambourine and harp

__________________________________

(Worship with out rightousness is an abomination to the Lord.)


~Ezekiel 26:13
I will put an end to your noisy songs, and the music of your harps will be heard no more.

~Amos 5:23
Away with the noise of your songs! I will not listen to the music of your harps.

~Revelation 18:22
The music of harpists and musicians, flute players and trumpeters, will never be heard in you again. No workman of any trade will ever be found in you again. The sound of a millstone will never be heard in you again.

 There are many verses  as you know regarding music/ worship to our God. From my blog title  you can guess that yes I love to worship my King and am commanded to do so for that is what  you and I are created to do.

Just to clarify worship does not always mean just in music or song. It is a life style. And has endless forms as we walk with the Lord.  It maybe an act of kindness to someone who is undeserving. Or doing something for someone who can`t do for themselves. Praying for someone. Worship is giving of yourself unselfishly.

Now in the form of music ,which is the choice of my topic. This is something I love and feel unhindered. I love to express my love to God in song.

Now I have had some different experiences good and bad regarding this. First I will explain the not so pleasent. I was at a church and yes worship was great until I noticed that it was not nessecarily being done in the Spirit and in truth. Meaning it was done by the flesh and did not feel Holy or right.  The songs were sung over and over andI delt a heavyness that was very uncomfortable. Worshiping God should be freeing and refreshing. This did not. I later found out that the church was a church that did not apply the words of scripture correctly and it was a lot of self rather then the spirit of the living God. I stopped going.

A friend invited me to go one night to a college chaple student led worship service. All I can say is Night and day difference. No heavy uncomfortable feeling. It felt and was very refreshing and convictingly Holy and reverent.

When you are in a time of song worship there is a huge difference from just singing from the flesh to truly worshiping from the spirit.

During this time and after long study I was introduced to Passion founded by Louie Giglio. This man speaks to the college age all around the world. You can learn more about him here.

I bought some dvd`s and noticed that the way these people worshiped was like my expereince at that college chaple. It was real and authentic.

To name a few christian artist I listened to are: Christ Tomlin( He has written many songs that are sung in churches today) A couple would be- How Great Is Our God, More The Enough.  The list goes on and on. Christy Knockles, Bethany Dillan, Matt Redman( he has a dvd called Face Down- great worship experience). All of these people have true hearts for the Lord.

Ok so here is where I am trying to get to my point. I have just noticed not neccearily from these artists but just in general that Songs have lost a certain reverence. Maybe it is the sound/ instrumnets or something but it is becoming noise. I wonder what God thinks of todays modern music we display before Him.

The reason I say this is maybe because at many services it is more like a concert then worship. Loud, oh so loud. To loud I would say most times. I mean from that little college chaple where the students led worship. They had only a few guitars and their voices. I could sence the presence of God. And just to say yes that was a few years ago, but that should not make a difference. Today I go into my church service and as I said loud, noise. We are called to make a joyful noise unto the Lord but it does not have to be so distracting. I just feel that we need to get back to basics. Simple.And I think we are going over board and in the other direction. To where the spirit of the Lord may not really be in the music any more, just the flesh and to me that  is  a scary thought  .

 

 

Add to DeliciousAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

4 thoughts on “Is It A Sweet Sound?

  1. Tishrei says:

    Excellent post. Much of what goes on in churches today shows no reverence for our Redeemer. It sometimes feels like one is at a popular rock band. I just can’t stand that.

    I agree with you, worship is not just music but it encompasses so much more.

    Thank you for this post — after what happened on my blog today, I REALLY, REALLY needed this. Thank you!

    1. Liz says:

      your welcome thouhg you are doing great!!

      I have just noticed this about worship music in the church at it has been really getting to me. Maybe it is just my church but I tell ya we do not sing reverent songs they are just always fast upbeat. praise style. Not worship and stand in awe style. There are some great more reverent songs that have been written that are being unsung.

  2. Margaret says:

    Liz,

    There is so much to sing about with our Lord…. The Psalms give us a hint (a big hint) as to what is right and reverent in our music before the LORD….. Paul encourages us to sing “songs” and “psalms”…. I think our songs need to reflect the same kind of messages as the psalms, which refer to everything from praise and joy to repentance and earnest prayers for help.

    Margaret

    1. Liz says:

      you are so right. And the psalms are a great example. Don`t get me wrong I love to praise my God but I feel there has to be a balance.

      One may not be in a place of praise but more of reflection or repentence that would lead to the heart of praise. I mean when I go to church there are times yes all I want to do is shout for joy for what God has and is doing at that time but then I want to just be still before him and be more reverent.

      Thank goodness I can do that with all my different dvd`s at home.
      Something about being in the company of fellow beleivers though is very uplifting and encouraging. Seeing people love on their God. It is humbling.

Leave a Reply

